I’m not an expert. I’m not a coach, nutritionist or doctor – I’m just a girl who has tried a lot of things to lose weight.

I’ll get more into that another time. 

For now, just read into this as if  a friend is telling you what they think of the keto diet – the good, the bad and the ugly…

The Good-

Bacon, eggs and coffee are staples in the meal plan.

Steak, Texas brisket … bun-less burgers are still pretty great.

Butter… cheese… it feels wrong but in a few days the scale confirms maybe it’s right.

In those few days if you can keep hydrated and boost electrolytes you may be one of the few to avoid ‘keto flu’ or the terrible headache associated with sugar withdrawal.

If you’re suffering through the transition from carb-burning to fat-burning – stick it out.

In my experience the worst only lasts a day or two. Then awesome things happen. You’re resting better, have more energy, mood stabilizes, cravings lessen, you’ll eat less and feel fuller longer.

As someone who has tried super restrictive diets and deprivation and is recovering from binge eating cycles this brought on a whole new feeling; one I’ve never got from a ‘diet’ – I ate and felt satisfied.

To be satiated, content, comfortable and get results was amazing!

I lost 20 pounds rather quickly. Then life happened. Over the last several months I’ve gone back and forth with keto just enough to maintain it.

The Bad-

At some point it began to feel like a restrictive diet; like all the rest.

I wasn’t as impressed with great bun-less burgers and began focusing on not being able to have the cupcakes I loved to bake.

Pie, pizza, good ice cream; the perception of missing out on celebrations or special occasions wooed me into the yolo state of mind.

Stress and regret led to binges and then there it is – the mentally and physically disastrous cycle of dieting.

The Ugly-

The ugly is the mental game that dieting is, it’s being engulfed and trapped in our diet culture. It’s labeling ‘good’ or ‘bad’ foods, ‘good’ or ‘bad’ bodies, which number should or should not be seen on a scale or a tag. It’s the restrictions, binges, guilt, shame, scale addictions, comparison … the list goes on.

As it turns out the most difficult aspect in a fitness journey is probably changing your mind.

I’m still not there, where I want to be, when it comes to self-love but I’m getting there. With age, wisdom and experience I’m understanding to appreciate my body for all it’s seen me through.

I’m beginning to forgive myself for the times I was careless with it, punished it and hated it. I’m redeeming myself by loving it now, in any stage, as it’s always changing. I’m learning to be gentler and patient while not giving up or selling myself short.

I still have weight-loss and fitness goals, they’re loose and forever evolving. The ultimate goal is to love and encourage myself into attaining a fit, healthy and active lifestyle not to criticize or punish myself into fitting in a mold of anyone else’s ideals.

All in all, I do actually like the keto diet for what it is but at some point I want to be free of all ‘diets’ and simply fuel my body in a well balanced and mindful way.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment